An Explanatory Post – Foods for Birds

Here is the better explanation for the “Foods for Birds” page on Avian Ambition that I promised to write yesterday. Right now it is obviously under construction as I have only made a long list of food names, but I’ll explain below about how I will change that. Much like Coco’s “Pellet Project“ (who inspired me to do this); a lot of the information here will be for bird owners to use so that they can decide on which foods they think are the best choice to feed their birds, except her list is much more detailed and about pellets.

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

I created this page so that bird owners could have an easy to find and helpful list of foods (and other consumable items) that they could feed their birds. This page will include a large variety of foods, including:

  • Fresh Foods (Vegetables, Fruits, etc.)
  • Pellets (Totally Organic Pellets, Harrison’s, etc.)
  • Cooked Foods (Beans, Legumes, “Mash”, etc.)
  • Dry Foods (Seeds, Nuts, etc.)
  • Other Foods (Wheat Germ, Supplements, etc.)

This list will be edited and will be under construction while I work on adding different information and foods over time. To do this, I have first started with a fairly long list of foods and listed them in alphabetical order. I plan on making it a goal to complete one whole set of information for one type of food per week, or biweekly. That way, there won’t be an overload of work for me to do, and this list can gradually grow without any major changes.

I am by now means on expert, but with the help of others I think this list will turn out pretty good. Which is why I ask for anyone that can help, to make this list grow by providing me with any information they might like to share about a type of food. If you know things like what vitamins a food contains, what a food’s benefits are (ex: plums promote healthy skin), how to serve and prepare a food, or anything that can be added to this list, feel free to share.

If you’re curious about a certain type of food, requests can be made for a food’s set of information to be done before another, so please go ahead and ask. I’ll be updating this list by alphabetical order, unless someone requests of course.

Remember, you can access this page from the home page of Avian Ambition, and it is always displayed under the header.

2 Comments to “An Explanatory Post – Foods for Birds”

  1. Very cool page. Are you planning on including various brands of cooked food or not? Like Crazy Corn and all that. I think that would be very cool. Also, can I make a request for goji berries?

    • I think I’ll be focusing more on the cooked foods in general, not the products. It will probably depend on how much information there is on the product though. If there is enough, then I will have a go at some if you have a few in mind. 🙂

      I’ll be sure to add your request to the list right now!

Comment Down Here!

