• My Fish Luthais *

Luthais (pronounced loo-shus) is my weather loach. He currently lives with two other goldfish in a 5-gallon tank that I hate so much, but I will be upgrading that as soon as I have enough money. Luthais was bought at a WAL-MART sadly, but he is a healthy little fella.

Weather loaches are said to be pretty hardy animals, so he will probably live a long, happy life. They are named weather loaches because they are supposed to be able to sense biometric changes. They become frantic and active when they sense a storm, but I haven’t witnessed Luthais doing this yet.  Though they rather being with other loaches, they get along well with other species and are community fish.

While researching about weather loaches, I also came across a comment that said weather loaches are really friendly, tame, and that they weren’t scared of being hand-fed. These are all so true, and I have to say that he is so much fun to have around. If I watch him interacting with the other two goldfish long enough, I can see his playful side of him. It’s also pretty cool to be able to hand feed him.

The first time I’ve ever hand-fed him, I pinched some of his food flakes in between my fingers, and carefully dipped them into his tank. I also made sure that my hands were cleaned prior to dunking them in. I waved my fingers around around a bit, and waited. Then as quick as lightning, he shot around his tank and found where the food was. When he got to my hand, he started vacuuming up the flakes right out of my fingers. His mouth felt like a little suction cup, slurping up all the food at top speed.  It tickled a lot, but I stayed still until he finished and moved on.

These days I like to just feed him normally along with Citrus and Mushu, but sometimes he’ll be a pig and eat more than his share. Mushu and Citrus are smart enough to stay out of his way though, because he has been growing quite a deal recently. He must be longer than 8 inches already, but that’s just my guess. I’ll start to measure him for real when I get a new tank so that he’ll have enough room to grow.

It’s not just me that loves to having Luthais and his friends around. They have two more fans; Leia and Max. These two kittens love to watch the fish swim around in their tank. They sometimes watch them for more than half an hour straight, just sitting and staring. I don’t know what it is about fish, I guess it’s just intriguing to watch such delicate creatures swim around so gracefully in the water.

Luthais

Comment Down Here!

